This is default featured slide 1 title
This is default featured slide 4 title
This is default featured slide 5 title

Nature of Meditation

Explanation: Here lord Krishna is teaching Arjuna that a Yogi’s mind must be standing still to practice meditation on God just like a lamp in a windless place where the flame does not flitter and enlightens that place.

This particular Shloka tells us about the balanced state of meditation as well as achieving one’s target. When we talk about meditation we think of sitting in the right posture, breathing slowly or chanting a mantra. This is in fact the first step to control your mind. Meditation however is to enable one’s mind to do something. Our mind receives energy from different sources and reacts promptly. When we sit to meditate, we close our eyes so that things can disappear but our subconscious mind gets active and things start dancing in front of us. Our guru teaches us to start it with some ‘Pranayama’ and it seems to be a little easy. If you ask people their experience about their meditation classes they say that it is difficult in the beginning but very soothing after some time. Meditating on god is in fact the seventh step towards the Moksha (the ultimate goal of life). According to the ‘Asthanga Yoga’ (eight parts of Yoga) one has to go through the eight different stages to attain the ‘Raj-yoga’ (the complete yoga). These stages are:

1. Yama-
2. Niyama
3. Aasana
4. Pranayama
5. Pratyahar
6. Dhaarna
7. Dhyana
8. Samadhi

The above ‘Ashtanga Yoga’ seems to be difficult to understand and follow but if you don’t want to practice meditation to attain the ultimate goal; ‘The Moksha’, you can at least enjoy each and every moment of your life by doing meditation provided you understand the first six steps of the ‘Ashtanga Yoga’.

The first step (Yama) is to purify your behavior by eliminating the notions of malice and strife as this step yields you to real humanity.

The second step (Niyama) is to follow one’s principles rigorously to purify and strengthen one’s mind and character.

The third step (Aasana) is to remove the volatility and indolence in order to balance your life style. By practicing Aasanas (postures of Yoga) you become healthy.

The fourth step is to slacken your breathing which bestows you with patience and endurance.

The fifth step teaches you to balance your food and diet in order to poise your thoughts and mind.

The sixth step (Dhaarna) is to mature your Chitta (mind) in order to ponder the target.

The seventh step (Dhyana or meditation) is to sojourn one’s Chitta (mind) to realize one’s beingness. Here you are the king of your body, mind, senses, feelings, circumstances and fate. Nothing may move until your permission.